Devotion to Shri Radha Krishna has a few conditions. The main condition is selflessness. This means having no desires. Desires are of two kinds: mayic or worldly desires, such as three of the four aims of human existence, namely dharma (observing religious principles), artha (material wealth), kama (sensual desire) and amayic or non-worldly desires, namely the desire for moksha or mukti (i.e. absolute liberation from maya). Dharma relates to the sattvic quality of maya, artha relates to the rajas quality of maya, kama relates to the tamas quality of maya and moksha is nirguna or beyond all the qualities of maya

In the Bhagavatam (3.29.8) Bhagavan Kapil explained to his mother, Devahuti that there are four kinds of devotion, and complete surrender of the mind is required for all of them. They are tamas devotion related to tamas desires, rajas devotion related to sensual desires, sattvic devotion for the attainment of the celestial abodes and kaivalya devotion for the attainment of moksha or liberation. This includes the non-dual realisation of the jnanis. (Chhandogya Upanishad 8.15.1, Vasudeva Upanishad 1, Vedant 4.4.22) 

Moksha or liberation is actually of five kinds. One of these, ekatva mukti relates to absolute liberation. In this realisation, a jnani loses his personal identity and merges into an impersonal state of God forever. This attainment is dangerous, in the sense that once the soul merges into absolute divinity, it no longer has a chance to attain divine love. Out of the five kinds of liberation, four of these (including ekatva mukti) are considered selfish because the practitioner has some desire he wishes to fulfil through that attainment. The one who renounces these desires attains the brajarasa or the divine love of the gopis.

To be continued . . .


An English translation of a discourse delivered in Hindi by:

Jagadguru Shri Kripalu Ji Maharaj

26 September 2009

Rangeeli Mahal, Barsana

© Radha Govind Samiti


Related Read

Prem Bhiksham Dehi


Leave your comment