Reflections, 15

What Does Love Mean?

We have five sense organs – the eyes, ears, nose, tongue and skin. The desire for any object of these senses is termed love. Oh, when will I see him? I wish to see him again and again. This feeling is love. The desire to hear his words and to enjoy everything of his through your senses is called love. Now, if this desire is for the world it is called attachment and results in the bondage of the 8.4 million species and attainment of lower regions. If the same desires are formed in the area of God, we become pure and attain liberation from maya. There is nothing new to this love.

Everyone loves something or someone. It is impossible not to love. Without correct understanding we develop attachment in the wrong place, and with proper knowledge we develop attachment in the right place. The only difference is that it is easier to develop attachment in the world because the world is visible to us, whereas to love God requires some effort. First you must understand who God is and who a Saint is, then you will have to come in contact with a Saint. It is also very easy to love a Saint, but it takes time to develop love for God since He is not visible to us.


An English translation of an excerpt from a speech originally given in Hindi by:

Jagadguru Shri Kripalu Ji Maharaj


Related Read

Gopi Prem Divas Special Reads